tutahappy.blogg.se

How to make an ssd bootable
How to make an ssd bootable











how to make an ssd bootable

I didn't find something compareable with Macrium Reflect. There was a restore option to set the image as bootable.

how to make an ssd bootable

Years ago with Windows 7 and Acronis True Image I had never an issue, to restore any Windows installation. Only disk2 had an additional 100MB boot partition in front of its windows partition. After restore I found out, that the fresh installation on Disk0 has only the windows partition on it. There is no boot menue anymore and it is also not possible, to boot disk0 or disk2 from the bootmenue in BIOS. Disk0: Samsung 850 EVO: fresh installation of Windows 10, 20H2 - Disk2: Samsung 860 EVO: older upgrade installation of Win10, 2004 The aim: I wanted to clone disk 0 to disk 2, to have the new installation on both SSDs. SATA ports can sometimes have a race for enumeration I've heard which can jumble that order, so general advice for things like fstab is to refer to the device or partition UUID value rather than /dev/sdX, especially for portability.I have two SSDs in my system: Samsung 850 + 860 EVO, both 1TB (to have one windows production and one test installation). I got the system to have the T5 SSD as /dev/sda but it was a pain I installed rEFInd to a USB stick(well, it also has an OS installed to it for emergencies), and my system can choose to boot from that, it'll pick up on my OS installs on other disks too, and this way rEFInd is portable afaik. Good advice, especially if on a modern UEFI system and there's an EFI partition. If you could, I recommend just pulling out the internal HDD when you install it (and just install it like normal) In this case it'd just be formatted with a native linux filesystem I guess anyway. If you try to use exFAT with Linux, stuff doesn't always work reliably, eg Steam library, at least when using Proton/WINE due to symlinks. I wrote about it here.Īlso keep in mind the default exFAT filesystem it came with uses a FUSE driver for exFAT until the kernel one is available(some systems may have an unofficial one in use, but it's still being worked on for a future kernel release now that the patents expired and Microsoft gave permission last year afaik). Do note that it's TRIM support is broken by default, you need a udev rule for it. Samsung T5 is an excellent external SSD, way better than majority of USB sticks(and the price difference kind of speaks for that).













How to make an ssd bootable